Video editing · Mac guide

Video Editing Software for YouTube on a MacBook: What Each Costs Over Two Years

Priced on the makers' own pages on 26 October 2026, Final Cut Pro bought outright ($299.99) beats Apple's $129-a-year plan only after about 28 months, and DaVinci Resolve Studio at $236 undercuts both over two years.

Compiled and verified by Vincent Wesley Couey · Published 26 October 2026 · Prices read on makers' own pages 26 October 2026 · Next review January 2027

Lattice finding

On the makers' own prices read on 26 October 2026, Final Cut Pro bought outright for $299.99 costs less than Apple Creator Studio's $129-a-year plan only after about 28 months, and DaVinci Resolve Studio at its current $236 costs less than both over two years ($236 against $258 and $299.99).

One-time price divided by the subscription's monthly equivalent ($299.99 / ($129 / 12) = 27.9 months; against the $12.99 monthly plan it is 23.1). The cost chart · method

Which video editor is best for YouTube on a MacBook?

By how long you will keep it and what your Mac runs:

  1. Keeping it two to three years or more: pay once. DaVinci Resolve Studio is $236 (marked down from $295 on the maker's page) and Final Cut Pro is $299.99; both beat a $129-a-year plan inside three years.
  2. Under two years, or you want Apple's bundle: Apple Creator Studio is $129 a year or $12.99 a month with a 30-day free trial, and includes Final Cut Pro, Logic Pro, Pixelmator Pro, Motion, Compressor and MainStage.
  3. An older Mac: Final Cut Pro needs macOS 15.6 or later and 8 GB of memory (16 GB recommended). CapCut Desktop lists macOS 10.14 or above and Descript lists macOS 14.
  4. No budget: DaVinci Resolve Free, CapCut Free and Descript Free (60 media minutes a month) cost nothing to try.

This page answers a Mac question: what runs on a MacBook and what it costs to keep. If you are choosing by workflow, our vlogger editing guide covers phone versus laptop, captions and free-plan limits, and the full YouTube editor ranking compares editors across every platform.

Apple logo

Final Cut Pro

Pay once, Mac only
$299.99one time, apple.com, 26 Oct 2026

Requires macOS 15.6 or later and 8GB of memory (16GB recommended). Also included in Apple Creator Studio at $12.99 a month or $129 a year, with a 30-day free trial; students pay $2.99 a month or $29.99 a year.

macOS15.6 or laterCreator Studio$129 a year
Blackmagic Design logo

DaVinci Resolve Studio

Pay once, Mac, Windows, Linux
$236was $295, blackmagicdesign.com, 26 Oct 2026

The page shows DaVinci Resolve Studio 21 at "Was $295 Now $236" with a "Save 20%" marking, and a free DaVinci Resolve. It describes Studio as fully optimized for Metal and Apple Silicon unified memory GPUs on a Mac.

Free tierResolve FreePromoSave 20%
Descript logo

Descript

Edit video by editing text
$16 a monthHobbyist, billed annually, descript.com, 26 Oct 2026

Hobbyist is $16 a month billed annually ($24 monthly) with 10 media hours and 400 AI credits a month and 1080p watermark-free export. The desktop app lists macOS 14 (Sonoma) or Windows 11 and newer.

Media10 hours a monthmacOS14 (Sonoma)
CapCut logo

CapCut

Free start, older Macs
$19.99 a monthPro, "reference only", capcut.com, 26 Oct 2026

Pro is shown at USD 19.99 a month or USD 179.99 a year, with a Free plan of "basic editing tools". CapCut Desktop lists macOS 10.14 or above.

macOS10.14 or aboveYearlyUSD 179.99
Wondershare logo

Filmora

One licence, Mac and Windows
US$59.99 a yearAdvanced, filmora.wondershare.com, 26 Oct 2026

Wondershare says one licence on the Basic or Advanced plan covers both Mac and Windows; the Perpetual licence is device-specific, so a Mac licence will not run on Windows.

LicenceMac + WindowsPerpetualper device
Luma Touch logo

LumaFusion

Touch-first, iPad and iPhone to Mac
$29.99App Store, 26 Oct 2026

Luma Touch says LumaFusion is compatible with iOS phones, iPads, Apple Silicon Macs, or Android phones, tablets and Chromebooks. The App Store lists $29.99 with in-app purchases and a Creator Pass subscription.

MacApple siliconApp$29.99

How much does each Mac editor cost over two years?

Over 24 months, DaVinci Resolve Studio costs $236, Apple Creator Studio $258, Final Cut Pro bought once $299.99, Filmora Advanced $119.98, CapCut Pro $359.98 and Descript Hobbyist $384; Resolve Free is $0. A one-time price is the cheaper route the longer you keep the editor, and the crossing points are on the chart below.

Cumulative cost of each Mac editor over 36 months. Resolve Free: $0 after 12 months, $0 after 24, $0 after 36. Resolve Studio: $236 after 12 months, $236 after 24, $236 after 36. Final Cut Pro, once: $299.99 after 12 months, $299.99 after 24, $299.99 after 36. Apple Creator Studio: $129 after 12 months, $258 after 24, $387 after 36. Descript Hobbyist: $192 after 12 months, $384 after 24, $576 after 36. CapCut Pro: $179.99 after 12 months, $359.98 after 24, $539.97 after 36. Filmora Advanced: $59.99 after 12 months, $119.98 after 24, $179.97 after 36$0$150$300$450$600month 0122436months of ownershipDescript Hobbyist $576CapCut Pro $539.97Apple Creator Studio $387Final Cut Pro, once $299.99Resolve Studio $236Filmora Advanced $179.97Resolve Free $0
Cumulative cost to scale. A one-time purchase is a step at month 0; a subscription is a slope (yearly plans are drawn as their monthly equivalent). Final Cut Pro's $299.99 crosses Apple Creator Studio's $129 a year at about month 28. Prices as shown on each maker's own page on 26 October 2026; CapCut says its displayed pricing is "for reference only", and renewal prices for Filmora and CapCut were not read.
EditorModelPrice shown12 months24 months36 monthsNote
DaVinci Resolve FreeFree$0$0$0$0Free download; Mac, Windows, Linux
DaVinci Resolve StudioOne time$236$236$236$236Was $295, "Save 20%" on 26 Oct 2026
Final Cut ProOne time$299.99$299.99$299.99$299.99macOS 15.6+, 8 GB (16 GB recommended)
Apple Creator Studio$129 a year$129 a year$129$258$387Includes Final Cut Pro, Logic Pro, Pixelmator Pro, Motion, Compressor, MainStage; 30-day trial
Descript Hobbyist$16 a month, annual$16 a month$192$384$57610 media hours, 400 AI credits a month; $24 billed monthly
CapCut ProUSD 179.99 a yearUSD 179.99 a year$179.99$359.98$539.97"Displayed pricing is for reference only"
Filmora AdvancedUS$59.99 a yearUS$59.99 a year$59.99$119.98$179.97Renewal price not read

Read on each maker's own page, 26 October 2026, US dollars. Yearly plans are shown as their monthly equivalent in the 12, 24 and 36 month columns. Promotions (Resolve's 20% off, CapCut's "60% OFF" label) can end; first-year and renewal prices can differ and were not read for Filmora or CapCut.

Which editors run on which Mac?

Final Cut Pro is the only editor of the six that publishes both a macOS minimum (15.6 or later) and a memory minimum (8 GB, 16 GB recommended) on the pages we read; Descript lists macOS 14 (Sonoma), CapCut Desktop lists macOS 10.14 or above, and LumaFusion lists Apple silicon Macs. Apple also says some Final Cut Pro features, such as Transcript Search and Visual Search, require a Mac with Apple silicon.

What each maker publishes for Mac buyers on the pages read. Final Cut Pro, macOS minimum: yes (15.6 or later). Final Cut Pro, Memory minimum: yes (8 GB, 16 rec.). Final Cut Pro, Apple silicon stated: yes (some features). Final Cut Pro, Pay once option: yes ($299.99). Final Cut Pro, Free tier or trial: yes (30-day trial). DaVinci Resolve, macOS minimum: not stated on the page read. DaVinci Resolve, Memory minimum: not stated on the page read. DaVinci Resolve, Apple silicon stated: yes (Metal, unified RAM). DaVinci Resolve, Pay once option: yes (Studio $236). DaVinci Resolve, Free tier or trial: yes (Free version). Descript, macOS minimum: yes (14 (Sonoma)). Descript, Memory minimum: not stated on the page read. Descript, Apple silicon stated: not stated on the page read. Descript, Pay once option: no (subscription). Descript, Free tier or trial: yes (60 min a month). CapCut Desktop, macOS minimum: yes (10.14 or above). CapCut Desktop, Memory minimum: not stated on the page read. CapCut Desktop, Apple silicon stated: not stated on the page read. CapCut Desktop, Pay once option: no (subscription). CapCut Desktop, Free tier or trial: yes (Free plan). Filmora, macOS minimum: not stated on the page read. Filmora, Memory minimum: not stated on the page read. Filmora, Apple silicon stated: not stated on the page read. Filmora, Pay once option: yes (Perpetual). Filmora, Free tier or trial: yes (Free plan). LumaFusion, macOS minimum: not stated on the page read. LumaFusion, Memory minimum: not stated on the page read. LumaFusion, Apple silicon stated: yes (Apple silicon Macs). LumaFusion, Pay once option: yes ($29.99 app). LumaFusion, Free tier or trial: not stated on the page readmacOSminimumMemoryminimumApple siliconstatedPay onceoptionFree tieror trialFinal Cut Pro15.6 or later8 GB, 16 rec.some features$299.9930-day trialDaVinci ResolveMetal, unified RAMStudio $236Free versionDescript14 (Sonoma)subscription60 min a monthCapCut Desktop10.14 or abovesubscriptionFree planFilmoraPerpetualFree planLumaFusionApple silicon Macs$29.99 app
A filled dot means the maker's own page says it; an open dot means the page says no; a dashed dot means we did not find the figure on the pages we read, which is not a claim that it does not exist. Only Final Cut Pro publishes both a macOS minimum and a memory minimum on the pages read. Pages read 26 October 2026.

DaVinci Resolve's page describes Studio as "Fully optimized for Metal and Apple Silicon unified memory GPUs on a Mac" but did not carry a macOS or memory minimum on the pages we read; check Blackmagic's own system requirements before you buy on an older machine. Filmora's licence rule matters if you also own a Windows PC: one Basic or Advanced licence covers both, while a Perpetual licence works only on the system it was bought for.

Which editor fits your Mac and your workflow?

Which Mac editor by your macOS version and workflow. Is your Mac on a macOS older than 15.6? Yes: CapCut Desktop lists macOS 10.14 or above. Do you want to pay once and never be billed again? Yes: Final Cut Pro $299.99 or Resolve Studio $236 (FCP needs macOS 15.6+). Do you cut talking-head video by editing a transcript? Yes: Descript Hobbyist $16 a month, billed yearly. Do you want a full pro editor for $0? Yes: DaVinci Resolve Free. Otherwise: Try Final Cut Pro's 30-day free trial before you buy.Is your Mac on a macOS olderthan 15.6?yesCapCut Desktoplists macOS 10.14or abovenoDo you want to pay once andnever be billed again?yesFinal Cut Pro $299.99or Resolve Studio $236(FCP needs macOS 15.6+)noDo you cut talking-head videoby editing a transcript?yesDescript Hobbyist$16 a month, billedyearlynoDo you want a full pro editorfor $0?yesDaVinci ResolveFreenoTry Final Cut Pro's 30-dayfree trial before you buy.
Read top to bottom: the first yes is your pick. Final Cut Pro needs macOS 15.6 or later per Apple, so the Mac's macOS version is the first gate, not the last.
MacBook editor buying checklist
BEFORE YOU BUY (all figures from the makers' own pages, 26 Oct 2026)
[ ] Apple menu > About This Mac: note the macOS version and the memory
[ ] Final Cut Pro needs macOS 15.6 or later and 8 GB of memory (16 GB recommended)
[ ] Decide your horizon: 24 months or more favours paying once (Resolve Studio $236, Final Cut Pro $299.99)
[ ] Under 24 months: Apple Creator Studio is $129 a year ($12.99 a month) and has a 30-day free trial
[ ] Try the free tier first: DaVinci Resolve Free, CapCut Free, Descript Free (60 media minutes a month)
[ ] Export for YouTube as MP4, H.264, AAC audio (YouTube's recommended upload encoding settings)
[ ] Keep the project file and media on the same drive; leave 20% of the disk free

Final Cut Pro or DaVinci Resolve on a Mac?

Final Cut Pro is Apple's own editor, sold once for $299.99 or inside Creator Studio, and its page lists automatic captions from spoken audio, Magnetic Mask object isolation, tracking and image stabilization including SmoothCam. DaVinci Resolve is a cross-platform editor with a free version; its Studio page lists AI region tracking, a text-based editing tool, proxy editing and a dedicated Cut page for fast turnarounds.

On cost alone the choice is Resolve Free at $0, Resolve Studio at $236 or Final Cut Pro at $299.99. If you want one app family across Mac and iPad, Final Cut Pro is also available on iPad (iPadOS 18.6 or later and an M1 chip or later) through Creator Studio.

Can you start on an iPhone or iPad and finish on the Mac?

Yes, with two caveats about what the makers say. LumaFusion is listed by Luma Touch as compatible with iOS phones, iPads and Apple silicon Macs, so one app covers all three. Apple's Final Cut Pro page shows an iPhone running Final Cut Camera, a separate download, and lists Final Cut Pro for iPad in Creator Studio; it does not describe a phone editor. Filmora and CapCut each list mobile apps alongside their desktop editors.

We have not tested project hand-off between devices for this guide, so we describe availability, not sync quality. When your footage is shot on a phone, our phone editing app guide covers the apps on the phone side.

Which editor should you buy for a MacBook?

How we compared these editors

Method

We compared six editors on the prices, plans and system requirements each maker publishes on its own pages (apple.com, blackmagicdesign.com, descript.com, capcut.com, filmora.wondershare.com, luma-touch.com and the App Store), read on 26 October 2026, and on YouTube's recommended upload encoding settings. The cost chart is computed from those prices (a one-time price as a step at month 0, a yearly or monthly plan as a slope). We did not edit projects or time exports in these apps, so nothing here is a performance claim. Adobe Premiere is left out because Adobe's pricing page returned an error to our fetcher on 26 October 2026 and its US price was not confirmed.

For makers: if a price or requirement has changed, tell us through our contact page and we will re-read your page and date the update. The two-year cost figures may be cited with a link to this page (licence). Doors: Adobe affiliates, Descript affiliate, CapCut affiliate program, Wondershare news. YouTube's recommended upload encoding settings (MP4, H.264, AAC) apply whichever editor you export from.

Get the Creator Gear Stack PDF

The exact gear and software stack we recommend at every channel stage, in one printable sheet.

FAQ

What is the best video editing software for YouTube on a MacBook?

It depends on how long you will keep it. On the makers' own prices read on 26 October 2026, DaVinci Resolve Studio ($236, with a free version) is cheapest to own over two years, Final Cut Pro ($299.99 once) is Apple's own, and Apple Creator Studio ($129 a year) is cheapest for a year or less.

Is Final Cut Pro worth $299.99 on a Mac?

It costs less than Apple Creator Studio's $129-a-year plan only after about 28 months, and less than its $12.99 monthly plan after 23 months. Apple offers a 30-day free trial of Creator Studio, which includes Final Cut Pro.

What macOS version does Final Cut Pro need?

Final Cut Pro for Mac requires macOS 15.6 or later, 8GB of memory (16GB recommended) and 7.2GB of available disk space, per Apple's Final Cut Pro page. Some features require a Mac with Apple silicon.

Is DaVinci Resolve free on a Mac?

Yes, Blackmagic Design offers a free DaVinci Resolve for Mac, Windows and Linux, and sells DaVinci Resolve Studio as a one-time purchase, shown at $236 (was $295) on its page on 26 October 2026.

Can I edit YouTube videos on a MacBook Air?

Yes, within each editor's published requirements. Apple lists 8GB of memory as the Final Cut Pro minimum and 16GB as recommended. We did not time exports on any MacBook, so this guide does not rank editors by speed.

Does one Filmora licence work on a Mac and a PC?

For the Basic and Advanced plans, yes: Wondershare says one licence is good for both Mac and PC. The Perpetual licence is device-specific, so a Mac licence works only on Mac.

Bottom line

Decide your horizon before you pick the editor: at two years DaVinci Resolve Studio at $236 is the cheapest to own, Final Cut Pro at $299.99 pays back against Apple's $129-a-year plan after about 28 months, and for a year or less a plan such as Apple Creator Studio at $129 is cheaper. Check the macOS minimum first, because Final Cut Pro needs macOS 15.6 or later.

Related on LensPOV

GuideBest Video Editing Software for Vloggers (2026)Phone or laptop, auto-captions and free-plan limits, by workflow.RankingBest Video Editing Software for YouTubeThe full cross-platform editor ranking.GuideBest Video Editing Apps for iPhone and AndroidThe phone-side editors, compared.
☆ Save
Dashboard

From our network

Best AI Video Generators - nesyona.comBest AI Courses 2026 - edubracket.com1099-K Explained for Creators - ceocult.com